Installing an Intermediate CA

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Installing an Intermediate CA

L3 Networker

I'm getting the following error when I perform a commit on a PA-3020.  PAN-OS 5.0.1.  I know I'm doing something wrong.  I'm new to installing certs so feel free to point and laugh.

I had a certificate signed by GoDaddy for use by Global Protect.  It came signed by an Intermediate CA.

I've created a chained certificate to make sure the Intermediate cert goes to the client so no errors occur.  The chained cert is installed, shows its signed by the GoDaddy root and when I use GP I do not get any certificate errors.  So that part is good.

The chained certificate has the Public Key issued by GoDaddy at the top, the Intermediate cert "Issued To" cert and I imported the private key generated when the CSR was made (CSR created using a Winders server & IIS).  I didn't know what to do with the "Issued By" portion of the Intermediate cert & the chaining document I found in the PAN forums didn't mention it so it didn't get used in the chained cert.  If this is wrong let me know.

The problem is I get an error on the PAN every time I commit:  "vsys1:  Warning:  can't find complete cert chain for <imported_cert_name>".  I think the problem is that I did not import the Intermediate certificate before importing the chained certificate.

Here's my ignorant question:  How do I import the Intermediate cert?  The intermediate cert has two certs in it:  The "Issued To" cert and the "Issued By" cert.  When I import the PEM, is the "Issued By" considered the private key (checking 'Import Private Key')?  Or, do I just leave both "Issued To" & "Issued By" certs together in the PEM file & import it without checking 'Import Private Key'?