Global protect step by step with Pointsharp

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Global protect step by step with Pointsharp

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I'm interested in IT and I'm a beginner.

I read some documents on the internet

Could you please correct me to know if I have understood correctly?

When a customer connects with his login and password to his company's vpn using global protect.

Step 1) the Pointsharp server makes a request to the active directory to confirm the login and password

2) when the login and password are ok the Pointsharp server sends a token to the client 

3) the client sends the token back to the Pointsharp server

4) the client is connected to the vpn

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L6 Presenter

Yes, that is correct, the token is a code. In a real quick read, it appears to be a standard time based OTP (not 100% sure, but the specification sheet talks about options for hardware tokens, OATH, GoogleAuth, MicrosoftAuth, etc.).

The way this works is that the client is initially given a special authentication seed when enrolled, which is unique to each user. The client Pointsharp application (or GoogleAuth/etc.) then calculates a token at any given point in time from the original seed. So from 12:04:00 to 12:04:59 today it calculates token "394 019". At 12:05:00 that changes to "823 317". Then at 12:06:00 it becomes "910 006"... etc. You need to respond to the Pointsharp server with the appropriate token at the appropriate time, either by hitting "Confirm" in the Pointsharp app (it submits the token in the background) or typing in the token generated by GoogleAuth/etc.

Pointsharp server -> client: what is your token?

Client calculates: Initial seed + current time = token

Client -> Pointsharp server: the token is 012 345