Application incomplete or insufficient-data when using NNTPS

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Application incomplete or insufficient-data when using NNTPS

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I have been working with Cisco firewalls for the last 20 years, but I'm very new with Palo Alto and PANOS.

At the moment I have a PA-460 in my lab for learning purpose.

It's a basic setup with just a simple NAT/PAT rule for outgoing traffic to Internet and some basic access rules.

Most things are working great, but I'm having some issues with a newsreader application (SABnzbd) that I'm running on a Synology NAS.

The newsreader application cannot download any files and in the traffic monitor, I see either incomplete or insufficient-data.

This application has been working without any issues when using a Cisco Firepower FTD firewall, so I am trying to figure out what can be wrong.

The newsreader is using TCP port 563 (which is the default port for NNTP protocol over TLS/SSL). If I change the port to 443, everything is working and I can now download files.

Does anyone know why I'm not able to use port 563 and how I can fix this?

Thanks

/Jorgen 

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi @jorgenfrejso ,

You probably have your service in your security policy rules set to application-default.  With any protocol that runs over TLS (LDAPS, NNTP, etc.), the protocol is encapsulated within TLS.  Without decryption, the NGFW only sees TLS.  The default port for the App-ID "ssl" is 443, and that is the only port that TLS will be allowed to pass through the NGFW if the service is set to application-default.

You can do a quick test.  Change the service to any and see if it works.