XSOAR Playbook - Crowdstrike Endpoint Update

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

XSOAR Playbook - Crowdstrike Endpoint Update

L1 Bithead

Hi All,

i am new to XSOAR playbooks but i have managed to get a playbook operational that accepts data from a Microsoft form and then updates a crowdstrike endpoint's tag information (this end point is hard coded atm via its ID).

The automation (cs-update-device-tags) will only accept the Crowdstrike ID. Its a unique 32 character value, which is obviously not user friendly and unreasonable to expect people to know this. The users of the form will know the windows/linux hostname but not know the ID.

I am struggling to come up with a way to take the hostname variable i have collected from the form, and then somehow resolve this to its ID and then continue on with the action of updating the tag via cs-update-device-tags.

Documentation in this area seems quite light. Has anyone done something similar or can offer any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Steve

3 REPLIES 3

L3 Networker

It looks like you are using the Crowdstrike OpenAPI (Beta) integration. It looks like there is a command cs-query-devices-by-filter which can query your environment using a hostname which I believe will return the ID you need.

L1 Bithead

Hi Amontminy,

Yeah i did see this, and was struggling on how to use this exactly. Couldn't find any information or examples. I am assuming if i can get some detail back then it would need to be manipulated (parsed?) and passed onwards into my variables that then execute the task (that work ok when hard coded).

Will keep on digging! Thanks so far.

Steve

L1 Bithead

Hi all,

Pulling my hair out here, i am wondering if this is a bug or something related to it being beta?