Importing a WildCard SSL to use with GlobalProtect

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Importing a WildCard SSL to use with GlobalProtect

L1 Bithead

Hi All,

Im trying to import a WildCard SSL to use for our Palo Alto GlobalProtect VPN. Im Having some trouble as this is my first time using SSL. I can import the WildCard but im not able to link it to its Root CA (GoDaddy). Do i have to have this signed by the CA before using it? We have also added an (A) hostname e.g. example.companyname.com.au, do I have to update the wildCard's subject name with this? Any input will be much appreciated.

Thanks

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L7 Applicator

When you're doing the import, you'll want to make sure that your install is for the full chain. Check out this guide I wrote a few years ago that may help:

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Management-Articles/How-to-Install-a-Chained-Certificate-Signed...

As for your certificate's CN, it depends on how many hostnames you've put. In a wildcard cert, each *. is a literal period. So if you have:

*.example.com.au

Then you can make anything with a single hostname that ends in that, such as:

site.example.com.au

secure.example.com.au

vpn-gp.example.com.au

But if you were trying to go 2 levels deep, that would require an additional set of *. in your wildcard, such as:

my.site.example.com.au

this.is.too.many.example.com.au

Cheers,

Greg Wesson

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

L7 Applicator

i'm not too goood with ssl stuff as new to it myself so perhaps someone will jump in with a solution. However...

we do use wildcard certs and have had no issues.

can i assume you requested the wildcard cert from godaddy and what is the subject? is it *.companyname.com.au

L7 Applicator

Hi @Jasoncull365