Multiple Public IP's on External Interface

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Multiple Public IP's on External Interface

Not applicable

All,

I apologize if this has been asked before but I couldn't find anything related to my specific question.  I am a newbie when it comes to firewalls in general.  We are going to be migrating from ISA to the PA firewall shortly and I have a question about public IP's assigned to the outside(untrust) interface.  On the ISA we "attach" all the public IP addresses to the outside facing interface so ISA can "listen" and respond to traffic destined for that IP address.  From my reading it appears the PA doesn't need to have all the public IP's assigned to the outside interface as it will respond based on the subnet mask.  For example,  if I assign x.x.x.2/28 to the outside interface it will respond to traffic destined for any IP address in that range, is that correct?  If so, would there be an issue if our outside router is using x.x.x.1?  Would that appear to be two devices responding to traffic on the same IP?

If the PA will respond to all IP's in the subnet, how do I go about forwarding traffic based on a certain public IP?  For example, our OWA server uses x.x.x.3 and a totally different IP in the trusted network.  I also have multiple webservers that have different public IP's within our assigned range.  Our public DNS records direct traffic to those IP's.

Without explicitly being listed, will the PA respond to all public IP traffic based on the subnet?  Do I then create static NAT rules to direct all inbound traffic based on which public IP the traffic is hitting?