New to the Palo Alto platform and have a migration question

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

New to the Palo Alto platform and have a migration question

L1 Bithead

I am fairly new to the company I work for and have inherited a network that has two ISP's with two firewalls.  One firewall is an older ASA and the other is a small Sonicwall.

I have pretty good experience with the ASA platform.  However, the Sonicwall is new.

They currently have a DMZ configured on the Sonicwall using something called "Transparent Mode".  From my ASA experience, it seems to act a little like NAT exemption.  The purpose of this DMZ is to allow specific "inside" traffic to reach a server using an inside private address range.  Then that server functions as sort of a proxy that is connected "transparently" to the outside using a public IP address.

The purpose of this set-up is meet PCI requirements.

My question is, how could this be migrated to a PA-3050 platform?  Virtualwire?  

In the ASA world, I would create a DMZ that uses a private address space exclusively for that zone and create NAT and ACL rules that control traffic into and out of the zone to the outside.  Additionally, I would use NAT exemption and ACLs on the inside interface to allow inside sourced traffic to reach hosts in the DMZ without being NAT'ed and according to the ACL rules.

8 REPLIES 8

L2 Linker

I would try to use the migration tool to migrate a sonicwall/asa config to a PANW config:

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Migration-Tool-Articles/Download-the-Migration-Tool/ta-p/56582

- Regards,

-JD

Are you going to move over the entire configurations from SonicWall to PANW?

Or do you want similar functionaly on the PANW, much like the SonicWall and ASA thats already configured?

L6 Presenter