FTP Session Content Logs

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

FTP Session Content Logs

L1 Bithead

Hi Guys,

I'm quite new to PAN so please excuse my ignorance.. So far I'm very impressed with the content analysis and the in depth reporting it gives me on a network.

One thing I really like is that I can drill down into a specific users web-browsing session and see exactly what file they've downloaded, however, I can not do the same with a simple FTP session. The log details show all the data except the file name, which is something that I really need to be able to look at.

Out new 2020 PAN's replaced our old WatchGuard units that had extremely poor reporting capabilities, however seeing the file content of a FTP session was something that it was able to do. So I would only expect something of PAN's abilities, that it too can report the same info.

Our Firewall is setup pretty tight, however the only application that is fairly open is our FTP rule (much to my disgust) as we have a lot of employe's that need to upload data to distributors and suppliers. Furthermore, also all of our store updates and daily sales files are transfers between stores and Head Office through the FTP protocol, so our weekly FTP data throughput is anywhere between 12-16GB.

I know most of the users that need/should be using the FTP protocol, however, I would like to be able to inspect a users FTP session, if I feel that A.) The a users shouldn't really be using FTP or B:) If I see a users FTP session is larger then what they should be sending.

So basically I need to see if a users is sending files or data out through FTP that they shouldn't.

So my question is, is this possible??

Sorry for my long winded explanation/request and thanks in advance for you time.

Matt

5 REPLIES 5

L7 Applicator

Matt: