Guidance in setting up ssl decryption - cert management

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Guidance in setting up ssl decryption - cert management

L4 Transporter

I am trying to get this setup for a customer and this is my first time setting up ssl decryption. The customer has SBS2011 so they do have AD CA. I created a domain cert for the PA and exported the root cert. I imported both of these into the PAN firewall. I set the PA cert as the forward trust and forward untrust and the other as a root cert. I then imported the PA cert into my browser. I am still getting cert errors when trying to browse.

So I am seeking a little guidance here. I have search through the forums and read the managing certs pdf but it seemed to only scratch the surface.

Thanks so much in advance!

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

You create either a selfsigned cert (as a new root CA) or intermediate cert (from existing CA) and import both the public cert AND the private key to the PA.

Then on the client you add the public cert from above as trusted CA.

What happends during ssl-proxy is that the PA will have one outbound SSL session and one inbound towards the client. The PA will copy stuff from the outbound SSL session like expire date etc and use this private key you imported above to create a new cert which is then sent to the client in the inbound session.

The client will verify the issuer and since you already added this as trusted CA there will be no warnings on the client that the issuer is not trusted.

You can do a similar thing for bad outbound certs and have another public cert/private key combo as blacklisted CA. This way your client will be notified if the ssl terminated (outbound) session is malfunctioning security wise.