IPSec Tunnel with NAT configuration

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

IPSec Tunnel with NAT configuration

L2 Linker

Hello Experts,

I am new to PA and trying to understand how below can be achieved. I am trying to set up IPSec tunnel between checkpoint and PA.

Diag:

nitesharbale_1-1630603596644.png

I want to establish a IPSec tunnel between CP and PA. On PA side i have 172.16.0.0/24(inside zone) private IP range which i want to NAT to 10.172.0.0/24 and send it to CP side as intresting traffic. I have Phase1 and 2 configuration ready(PSB snap attached)

But i am not sure how to configure routing as 10.172.0.0/24 & 1.1.1.1 is not associated to any of my interface. Do i need Null 0 route ?

Furthermore do i really need to configure seperate zone & IP address for tunnel?

The same scenario i found here :https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/general-topics/nat-over-ipsec-tunnel/td-p/399619

but i didn't understand much.

It would help me to understand and study further if someone could help me provide the config pls.

Current Route Table:

nitesharbale_2-1630603828134.png

Global Protect IPSec Crypto:

nitesharbale_3-1630603878868.png

IKE Gateway:

nitesharbale_4-1630603953461.png

IPSec Crypto:

nitesharbale_5-1630603977473.png

IKE Crypto:

nitesharbale_6-1630604001128.png

Thanks

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hey @nitesharbale ,

I belive this could be caused by the supernetting that I mentioned

- When Palo Alto initiate the tunnel, for phase2 negotiation it will use the network as you have configured them in the proxy-id and Checkpoint will accept that

- But when Checkpoint is initiating the tunnel it is possible that it will try to use a supernet, which is different from what Palo is expecting and it will not accept the proposal.