URL Filtering for Roaming Devices

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

URL Filtering for Roaming Devices

L0 Member

It's my first post on the forum here. I've been working with PA products in the enterprise for about 2 years. 

Just out of curiosity, what are organizations doing for company owned roaming device URL filtering (if at all)?  Obviously one option is to use Global Protect with an always-on VPN. However, the drawback for us it that it would require significant bandwidth and additional distributed hardware. The organization I work for is globally distributed with users spread out in almost every region. Internet bandwidth and private WAN bandwidth at the head end(s) is a significant factor.

Some other solutions we are considering is anti-virus agent based platforms that include a URL filtering component. There are other cloud based products that proxy or use DNS for filtering. Again, just looking for general feedback on what others are doing successfully. Any input is much appreciated.

Thanks,

-Mike 

5 REPLIES 5

L6 Presenter

That's what we've seen.

MPLS is going away, so to speak, the reliance for using it for everything is going away.  For us, hundreds of Meg/Gigabit INet circuits are relatively cheap, but ingesting all that data comes at an expense.

For our users they're split-tunneled with specific work traffic coming back to HQ, while general INet traffic goes out their local connections.  Using this cloud design works well with "hybrid networking or an iWAN" solution as our traditional remote office locations can have the same "funnel the junk" policy direct "to the cloud" via business broadband links while traditional business traffic contnues to use the smaller MPLS links.

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello,