GlobalProtect auto-update fails, application breaks

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

GlobalProtect auto-update fails, application breaks

L0 Member

I am a software engineer on Long Island, NY. My company uses GlobalProtect VPN to allow us to connect remotely to our internal network. We were originally using SonicWall but transitioned to GlobalProtect when our company was sold two years ago.

When I am logged in from home, GlobalProtect will periodically check whether a new version is available. If it finds a new version, it attempts to automatically download and install the update. This update never works, and after it fails GlobalProtect becomes permanently non-functional. It just says "Not Connected", and if I click on the Connect button, nothing happens. Some websites suggested going into the Manage Portals screen, deleting all the portal names, and re-adding them. I've tried that and it didn't work. The only fix so far has been to have our I.T. department uninstall and reinstall GlobalProtect on my laptop. They've already had to do this 3-4 times because the failure keeps happening. As far as I know, I am the only employee in my department who is having this problem.

I am running 64-bit Windows 10 Enterprise, version 21H2. GlobalProtect is version 6.0.1-19.

1 REPLY 1

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@richferrara,

This isn't a terribly uncommon problem with GlobalProtect upgrades being pushed out from the firewall instead of installing through something like SCCM/Intune. Every time I push out an update I can expect a couple people to run into this issue, usually because they restart during the upgrade when the connection drops or they have something installed on their network which prevents GlobalProtect from downloading the update properly.