XQL Query Assistance

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

XQL Query Assistance

L0 Member

Hi all,

I'm new to Cortex and creating XQL queries. I was looking for a way to detect a brute force attack (failed logins followed by a successful login). Are there any good resources available online or can someone help me get this query built?

Thanks in advance

#Cortex XDR   

6 REPLIES 6

L5 Sessionator

Hi @WilliamHolloway if you are using Cortex XDR Pro, there are several Analytics Detectors that are automatically triggered during brute force attempts once the tenant has met the minimum requirements for Analytics. You can refer to this documentation as to how to enable Analytics.

L0 Member

Hi William , we can build a XQL Query and search for an event id like 4624 for successfully login and 4625 for failed login 😉

L1 Bithead

Has anyone created the XQL Query for this failed and successful logon? CrowdStrike had a great dashboard for this and I am looking to create inside our Cortex setup.

L2 Linker

@WilliamHolloway @TDoerr 
This probably answer half of your question, the query below is calculating the number of authentication failures per user/endpoint with the failure reason.
I figure you could start from here.

dataset = xdr_data // Using the xdr dataset

//Query against Windows Security Event ID 4625 - Authentication Failure
| filter event_type = ENUM.EVENT_LOG and action_evtlog_event_id = 4625
| alter Workstation_Name = lowercase(json_extract_scalar(to_json_string(action_evtlog_data_fields), "$.WorkstationName" ))
| alter Target_UserName = lowercase(json_extract_scalar(to_json_string(action_evtlog_data_fields), "$.TargetUserName" ))
| alter Target_DomainName = lowercase(json_extract_scalar(to_json_string(action_evtlog_data_fields), "$.TargetDomainName" ))