Microsoft Lync 2010 - 2013

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Microsoft Lync 2010 - 2013

Not applicable

Has anyone rolled out MS Lync 2010 servers in your network and worked out the policies & rules for the Lync traffic. If so would someone be willing to share the details. I am very new to the PANOS and i do not want to create security risk.

Thank you in advance,

PlanoGuy

8 REPLIES 8

L3 Networker

This is an example of the "Single Consolidated Edge" we are using.  Good Luck!

MikeLync Topology.jpg

Thank you for the diagram Mike, it will be usefull. however i am looking for something more basic to the policies and rules and what they will look like in the PA-500 GUI...

Thanks Mike

Hi Plano,

So in my case, the PAN is the internal firewall.  I created custom application for the Lync ports (8057, 5061, 5062, 4443).  I created an application group for all the FE -> Edge services that includes the aforementioned ports and additionally included ssl and stun.

I made App Override policies for the Lync ports so they were mapped correctly and implemented security rules per the diagram.  So it sort if looks like this:

Custom App:

12-11-2012 11-27-56 AM.png

App Group:

12-11-2012 11-28-14 AM.png

App Override:

12-11-2012 11-31-41 AM.png

Sec Pol:

12-11-2012 11-33-03 AM.png

Obviously, your actual mileage may vary, but this should get you close for the FE <-> Edge server policy.

Cheers,

Mike

Hi,

there is a document from Palo Alto Networks and Citrix Netscaler (as load balancer for Lync) describing a reference setup:

http://media.paloaltonetworks.com/documents/panw-netscaler-lync.pdf

This is a fantastic document.

Thank you for posting.