NAT and site to site VPN

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

NAT and site to site VPN

L1 Bithead

Hello,

We're trying to build a Site to Site VPN connection with an other company. They are installing software on two of our servers (10.130.0.100 and 10.202.20.20) and they need the VPN to automatically transfer configuration and other files.

The VPN-link is active but we have a problem with overlapping subnets. They use subnet 10.0.1.0/24, but we also use that subnet in our network.

VPNPrblm.PNG

I have little experience implementing NAT. Is it possible to use a NAT-rule on our PA5020 that translates the 10.0.1.0/24-subnet adresses from the other company into a 10.207.218.0/23 IP? I already created a route in the PA to route traffic to 10.207.218.0/23 into the tunnel.5 interface. Can someone explain me in detail the NAT-rule (and other policies, routes) I have to create?

Thanks,

Stefan

4 REPLIES 4

L7 Applicator

You will both have to choose a subnet to NAT the other company network to and apply a NAT rule on your tunnel traffic.

This document outlines the procedures for the process.

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Documentation-Articles/Configuring-route-based-IPSec-with-overl...

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center

Thank you for your reply. Very interesting document.

There is no way to solve this on the company firewall only? Subnet 10.0.0.0/13 is a subnet of a remote router in our network, it's not a subnet of the firewall itself.

As a test I tried to make NAT rules for client 10.0.1.86 with server 10.202.20.20 on our company firewall:

Source NAT rule for the incoming traffic to our company: