Did you mean: 
Announcements
Palo Alto Networks Approved
Palo Alto Networks Approved
Community Expert Verified
Community Expert Verified

PA 440 MGMT Interface and Regular Interface

Good afternoon all,

I am very new to this field and I wanted to acquire some knowledge or perhaps a better explaination.  Looking at all of these videos online I think some basic fundamentals are missing in terms of real world scenarios; and not so much made up topologies.

SO, I am looking at my home network as a real world example.

The PA-440 was gifted to me and I want to see if the following is possible:

1.  MGT Interface > If I choose to have this interface on its own subnet (/27) 192.168.90.1/27 in my switch (layer 3) i would imagine I would need to have a ip route to know this interface is alive and i'm able to manage my firewall.

2. Gig ports 1/1 and 1/2 on the PA440

Gig 1/1 >> this will be my internet port as in directly from my router which has been placed in bridge mode and I have set the G 1/1 Interface to DHCP (under IPv4)

Gig 1/2 >> this will have a little more work; as I have been reading I can create sub interface such as

Gig 1/2.1 >> I'm assigning 192.168.50.1/27 - >tagged 50

Gig 1/2.2 >> I'm assigning 192.168.60.1/27 - tagged 60

Gig 1/2.3 >> I'm assigning 192.168.70.1/27 - tagged 70

DHCP is configured to distrubute each /27 and the subinterfaces are selected.

Keep in mind 1/2 will be terminated to a trunk on my switch with 3 VLANS, 50,60,70

I'm having a hard time understanding how the Management interface will operate from my switch

I'm having a hard configuring the Virtual Router

I''m having a hard time understanding how the security / NAT will work.

Any insight would be great; I know its a lot to ask. 

2 REPLIES 2

L4 Transporter

Hi there,