web-browsing a superset of applications

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

web-browsing a superset of applications

Not applicable

Hi,

I am very new to the PA.  I am configuring a PA500.  I hope it's OK to ask a beginners question here.

I want to allow web browsing generally.  I tried adding lots of applications but it got boring pretty quick.  I hope that the PA will do the work for me of weeding out bad web sites.  So now I have moved to a policy of allow all traffic to ports 80, 8080 and 443.  This does not seem to be the best way of doing it.  What I mean is that some applications, like for instance drop box, use other ports ie 17500.  Restricting traffic to particular ports doesn't allow the PA to do its application signature thing (does it).  On the other hand an "any application, on any port" policy seems to be a bit too permissive.  Are there supersets of applications?  Do web-browsing and ssl include say google and gmail?  If not what do they allow exactly?

Kim

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Kim,

Yes order of the security profiles matters. As soon as the traffic hits the top policy we will not look for further security policies for that particular traffic. So your order is always important. With regards to the error message your are seeing different error messages. What it means is

vsys1: Rule 'I2E-cisco-vpn' application dependency warning:    

Application 'ciscovpn' requires 'ike' be allowed, but 'ike' is denied in Rule 'I2E-appfilter'   

vsys1: Rule 'I2E-voip' application dependency warning:    

Application 'google-talk-base' requires 'jabber' be allowed   

Application 'google-talk-base' requires 'ssl' be allowed, but 'ssl' is denied in Rule 'I2E-appfilter'